Discovery.

by hangonz92

A fire burns

and in the scorching heat

I feel the skin

of my face

tighten

and crack

and a smile

becomes a painful

crumble

like marble

under the forceful blow

of harsh steel.

Books and

books and

books

sit beside me

all in their order,

in their rows,

but their words

are only

inaudible

whispers

which I gaze upon

in a wide eyed stupor

of absent thought.

Time is lost in this place

where the crackling

of the flames

drown out all that

surrounds

and I slowly lose my mind

to each crack

and pop.

A beast I become

in a lady’s dress

howling at the moon

and forgetting

the nature of the words

which line my shelves.

The fire consumes

and swallows the room,

me along with it,

and I burst into what

I truly am.

Chaos

swims with

tranquility

as the mindless monster,

the barbaric creature,

escapes from the smoke.

